FOOD SAFETY CERTIFICATION
CalCode Section 113716 requires food facilities
in California to have an owner, manager or employee successfully pass an approved and accredited food safety certification examination within 60 days of commencing operation, changing ownership, or no longer having a certified person pursuant to this section.
Food facilities handling or serving any type of unpackaged foods (including ice and snack foods) are subject to this law. This includes
restaurants, bars, cafeterias, bakeries, most markets, commissaries, and mobile food preparation units (MFPU).
The responsibilities of the certified owner or employee shall include the safety of food preparation and service, including ensuring that all employees of the food facility who handle or have responsibility for handling unpackaged foods of any kind, have sufficient knowledge to ensure the safe preparation or service of the food, or both.
The food safety certification issued shall be kept on file at the facility. Certificates are valid for a period of five (5) years from the date of issuance. Certified individuals must retake the approved and accredited examination every five (5) years.
The law does not require specific training for the examination, but such training is of benefit and will help in passing the test. It should be noted that the Fresno County Department of Community Health's current Food Handler Training class and examination does not meet the AB 1978 certification requirement, however, is still recommended for general food handling education. If you have additional questions, please contact the Consumer Food Program at (559) 600-3357.
FOOD SAFETY CLASSES
Fresno County Food Safety Classes are held from
2:00 - 4:00 pm on the first Monday of every month (except for holidays) at:
Fresno County Department of Public Health Department
1221 Fulton Street, 1st Floor, Rm 120
Fresno CA 93721
THE MONTHLY FOOD SAFETY CLASS FOR APRIL 6th HAS BEEN CANCELLED. THE NEXT AVAILABLE CLASS IS TENTATIVELY SCHEDULED FOR MAY 4th
Fresno County Food Safety Class: We offer a free food safety class that will address the main issues of preparing and handling food in a safe and sanitary manner. This class is a 2 hour class with a 25 question quiz.. Those who pass the test receive a food safety card signifying successful completion of the class. For class registration and specific class dates, please call (559) 600-3357.
This class does not meet the requirements of state law. General food safety knowledge, open to the public. This class is typically intended for: temporary food booth vendors that operate at community events, day care workers, school kitchen staff, Head Start employees, food facility employees that were told to come to our class by their inspector, other members of public wanting more food safety knowledge.
Certified Food Manager Class
(required by State Law)
California Food Handler Card Class(required by State Law)
This class is appropriate for restaurant managers, chefs, instructors and shift supervisors who are in-charge of ensuring the food safety of the workplace and the general public. The class covers basic food safety principles; temperature control; HACCP and sanitation; pest control;
All food handlers in non-exempted food facilities (primarily restaurants) that do not have a Food Manager Certificate must have a California Food Handler Card (CalCard) within 30 days of being hired. Offered primarily online but classes are available. These classes are 2.5 hours with a 40 question test.
Location: 1221 Fulton Street, 3rd Floor
Mailing Address: PO Box 11867, Fresno CA 93775-1867
Phone: (559) 600-3357
Fax: (559) 600-7629
Hours of Operation:
Monday - Friday 8:00am - 5:00pm
(Closed 12:00 pm - 1:00 pm)