Press Releases

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Nomination Period Opens for November's General Election

Post Date:07/24/2020 9:42 AM


For more information, contact:

Brandi L. Orth
County Clerk/Registrar of Voters

(559) 600-1730     FAX 559 488-3279
Web site:





FRESNO, CA –  Brandi Orth, the Fresno County Clerk, Registrar of Voters, announced the candidate nomination period opened on July 13, 2020 at 8:30 a.m. for offices participating in the November 3, 2020 Presidential General Election, and can be extended to Wednesday, August 12, for contests in which an eligible incumbent officeholder does not file.

In preparation for candidates filing during a COVID-19 pandemic and Executive Orders issued by the Governor, the Fresno County Clerk/Registrar of Voters’ office is electing to provide candidates with online support and options for issuing and filing nomination documents during the nomination period.  The purpose of the following options is to ensure candidates and county election officials have a healthy and safe environment during the candidate nomination period.

  • Options for Issuing Documents:  Appointment in-person; city candidates file with their City Clerk or special district candidates file with their Special District Secretary.
  • Options for Filing Documents:  Appointment in person or walk-in; USPS mail; overnight delivery; or, other delivery service – Authorization Form to Obtain/File Nomination Documents must be submitted before anyone other than the candidate can be issued or file papers.  The form can be found online at
  • If Choosing to File In-person:  Walk-ins will be welcomed; however, wait times may occur/vary and physical distancing requirements will be implemented – the Registrar of Voters is strongly encouraging candidates to schedule appointments.
  • Eligibility to run for office must be completed before issuance of nomination documents by an Election Official
  • Refer to the Candidate Application and Candidate Guidebook located online at

Fresno County Clerk Brandi Orth advises “there is no leeway in the filing deadline.  Candidates should file their nomination papers as early as possible so that any incorrect or incomplete forms may be corrected before the filing deadline (5:00 pm, August 7, 2020), which in most cases cannot be extended.”

All fees and originally signed nomination documents, including a Declaration of Candidacy and nomination signatures, must be filed together in one packet with the Fresno County Clerk/Registrar of Voters Office no later than 5 p.m. on Friday, August 7 (or by Wednesday, August 12, if an eligible incumbent does not file) in order to qualify as a candidate.

The following local offices are currently in the nomination period for the November 3, 2020 election:

Fresno County Board of Education (Trustee Areas 2, 3 & 5)
Tulare County Board of Education (Trustee Area 2)

Community College Districts

College of the Sequoias (Trustee Area 3)
Merced Junior College (Trustee Area 6)
State Center Community College (Trustee Areas 2, 3, 6 & 7)
West Hills Community College (Trustee Areas 3, 5 & 6)

City Offices

Coalinga Councilmembers (Districts 2 & 4, City Clerk & City Treasurer)
Firebaugh Councilmembers (Three seats, City Clerk & City Treasurer)
Fowler Councilmembers (Three seats)
Huron Councilmember and Mayor
Kerman Councilmembers (Districts 2, 4 and Mayor)
Kingsburg Councilmembers (Districts 2 & 3)
Mendota Councilmembers (Three seats)
Orange Cove Councilmembers (Two seats)
Parlier Councilmembers (Districts 1,3, City Clerk & City Treasurer)
Reedley Councilmembers (Districts 1, 3 & 5)
San Joaquin Councilmembers (Three seats)
Sanger Councilmembers (Districts 1, 3 & Mayor)
Selma Councilmembers (Districts 1, 4 & Mayor)

Unified School Districts

Caruthers Unified (Trustee Areas 1 & 2)
Central Unified (Trustee Areas 3, 4, 5 & 6)
Clovis Unified (Trustee Areas 2, 4, 5 & 7)
Coalinga-Huron Unified (Trustee Areas H1, C2 & C3)
Cutler-Orosi Joint Unified (Trustee Area 4)
Dos Palos-Oro Loma Unified (four seats)
Firebaugh-Las Deltas Unified (Trustee Area 2, 3 & 5)
Fowler Unified (Trustee Areas 4 & 5)
Fresno Unified (Trustee Areas 2, 5 & 6)
Golden Plains Unified (Trustee Areas 2, 3 & 4)
Kerman Unified (Trustee Areas 2 & 3)
Kings Canyon Unified (Trustee Areas 5, 6 & 7)
Laton Joint Unified (Three seats)
Mendota Unified (Four seats)
Parlier Unified (Two seats)
Riverdale Unified (Trustee Areas 4, 6 & 7)
Sanger Unified (Trustee Areas 1, 3, 4 & 5)
Selma Unified (Trustee Areas 1 & 2)
Sierra Unified (Five seats)
Washington Unified (Trustee Areas 1, 2, 3 & 4)

Elementary and High School Districts

Alvina Elementary School (Two seats)
Big Creek Elementary School (One seat)
Burrell Union Elementary School (Two seats)
Clay Union Elementary School (One seat)
Kingsburg Elementary School (Trustee areas 2 & 4)
Monroe Elementary School (One seat)
Monson-Sultana Union Elementary School (One seat)
Orange Center School (Three seats)
Pacific Union Elementary School (Two seats)
Pine Ridge Elementary School (Two seats)
Raisin City Elementary School (Three seats)
Washington Colony Elementary School (Trustee Areas 2 & 4)
West Park Elementary School (Three seats)
Kingsburg Joint Union High School (Trustee Areas 1 & 4)

Special Districts

Alta Irrigation  (Six seats)
Bald Mountain Fire Protection (Two seats)
Big Creek Community Service (Three seats)
Biola Community Service (Two seats)
Bluffs Community Service (Three seats)
Calwa Recreation and Park (Two seats)
Caruthers Community Service (Two seats)
Central California Irrigation (Five seats)
Clovis Veterans Memorial (One seat, one veteran seat)
Coalinga Regional Medical (District Areas 1, 2, 3 & 4)
Coalinga-Huron Recreation & Park (District Areas 1, 3 & 5)
Consolidated Irrigation (District Areas 2 & 3)
Del Rey Community Service (Two seats)
Easton Community Service (Two seats)
Fig Garden Fire Protection (Two seats)
Fig Garden Police Protection (One seat)
Firebaugh Resource Conservation (Five seats)
Fresno Irrigation (District Areas 2 & 5)<
Hills Valley Irrigation (Two seats)
Kingsburg Tri-County Health Care (Two seats)
Kings River Conservation (District Areas 2, 4, 6 & 7)
Laguna Irrigation (Two seats)
Lanare Community Service (Two seats)
Laton Community Service (Two seats)
Malaga County Water (Two seats)
North Central Fire Protection (Two seats)
Orange Cove Fire Protection (One seat)
Orange Cove Irrigation (District Areas 1 & 2)
Pinedale County Water (Two seats)
Pinedale Public Utility (Two seats)
Riverdale Irrigation (One seat)
Riverdale Public Utility (Three seats)
Selma Health Care (District Areas 2 & 4)
Sierra Cedar Community Service (Three seats)
Sierra Kings Health Care (District Areas 1, 3 & 5)
Tranquility Irrigation (Two seats)


For more information, contact the Registrar of Voters’ Office at (559) 600-VOTE (8683) or toll-free at 844-977-8683, or visit