Reporting Abuse

Print
Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Report Child Abuse

To report child abuse in Fresno County, California, contact the Child Protection Hotline 24 hours a day, 7 days a week:

Phone: (559) 600-8320
Fax: (559) 266-2463
*Mandated Reporters: Please fax your SCAR to this fax number. 

Resources and Links
Note: Includes links to the Mandated Reporting Form 8572 as well as helpful guides and a list of California CPS phone numbers.

The purpose and mission of the Child Protection Hotline (CPH) is:

  • To receive calls of abuse and neglect involving children and parents / guardians / caregivers in the home and assess the level of endangerment.
  • To obtain factual information regarding a specific incident and generate a referral for investigation, if appropriate.
  • To document and transmit all referrals of child endangerment to the appropriate office, timely.
  • To ensure child safety and protection.

During the evening, at night, on weekends and on holidays CPH will forward the info to stand by Social Workers to provide protective services to children in life threatening situations. Social Workers are on duty 24 hours to immediately investigate calls of abuse and neglect. Supervisors are also on duty for case consultations and supervision.
By law, certain professions are required to report suspected child abuse, neglect, and molestation.  This must be done immediately by telephone and must be followed within 36 hours in writing.

 

 

Report Elder/Dependent Adult Abuse

To report suspected abuse or neglect of the following individuals residing in Fresno County:

  • Elders – age 65 or older
  • Dependent Adults – age 18 to 64 with physical or mental limitations which restrict their ability to carry out normal daily activities, or prohibit them from protecting themselves from abuse  

Contact the Adult Protective Services Hotline 24 hours a day, 7 days a week:

Phone: (559) 600-3383 or (800) 418-1426 
Fax: (559) 230-1976 

Contact the Fresno-Madera Long-Term Care Ombudsman at (559) 224-9177 for concerns about abused or neglected persons in a Skilled Nursing or Long-Term Care facility.

Adult Protective Services (APS) receives reports from the public and from mandated reporters about possible abuse of elders or dependent adults and responds appropriately to assess the safety and well-being. Reports are reviewed by trained social workers and investigated as deemed appropriate. Social workers are available 24/7 to respond to crisis situations needing immediate response. When individuals are found to be at risk of harm or in need of intervention to ensure their safety, services are offered and referrals are made to appropriate agencies or programs. 

By law, certain professions are required to report suspected abuse or neglect of elders and dependent adults. This must be done by telephone within 24 hours and followed up within 48 hours on a Report of Suspected Dependent Adult or Elder Abuse form (SOC 341) available below or by request to the hotline. A different form (see below) is required from financial institutions reporting financial abuse. 

The completed form should be Faxed to (559) 230-1976 or if unable to be Faxed, mail it to:  

DSS – APS 
PO Box 1912 
Fresno, CA 93718 

 

Report of Suspected Dependent Adult/Elder Abuse, SOC 341

Spanish Translation of Report of Suspected Dependent Adult/Elder Abuse, SOC 341

Report of Suspected Dependent Adult/Elder Financial Abuse, SOC 342  (only to be used by Financial Institutions)

 

Free viewers are required for some of the attached documents.
They can be downloaded by clicking on the icons below.

Acrobat Reader Flash Player QuickTime Windows Media Player Microsoft Silverlight Word Viewer Excel Viewer PowerPoint Viewer