Food Safety Classes

Print
Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Our Location: 1221 Fulton Street, 3rd Floor
PO Box 11867, Fresno CA 93775-1867
Phone: (559) 600-3357 Fax: (559) 600-7629
Email: EnvironmentalHealth@co.fresno.ca.us
Hours of Operation:
Monday - Friday 8:00am - 5:00pm
(Closed 12:00 pm - 1:00 pm)

Certified Food Manager Class (required by State Law): This class is appropriate for restaurant managers, chefs, instructors and shift supervisors who are in-charge of ensuring the food safety of the workplace and the general public. The class covers basic food safety principles; temperature control; HACCP and sanitation; pest control; food handling; storage; preparation and service; and identifying the different types of contamination and preventing them. This class typically last up to 8 hours with an 80 question test. Upon successful completion of the exam, workers will receive a certification that will be valid for five years.

Certified Food Managers Exam Providers List

California Food Handler Card Class (required by State Law): All food handlers in non-exempted food facilities (primarily restaurants) that do not have a Food Manager Certificate must have a California Food Handler Card (CalCard) within 30 days of being hired. Offered primarily online but classes are available. These classes are 2.5 hours with a 40 question test.

California Food Handler Card Information

Accredited California Food Handler Certificate Programs

Fresno County Food Safety Class:This class does not meet the requirements of state law. General food safety knowledge, open to the public. This class is typically intended for: temporary food booth vendors that operate at community events, day care workers, school kitchen staff, Head Start employees, food facility employees that were told to come to our class by their inspector, other members of public wanting more food safety knowledge.

We offer a free food safety class that will address the main issues of preparing and handling food in a safe and sanitary manner.This class is a 2 hour class with a 25 question quiz.. Those who pass the test receive a food safety card signifying successful completion of the class.

The class typically meets the first Monday of the month in Room 120 from 2:00 PM to 4:00 PM. Attendees must register for the class.

For class registration and specific class dates, please call (559) 600-3357.

Free viewers are required for some of the attached documents.
They can be downloaded by clicking on the icons below.

Acrobat Reader Flash Player QuickTime Windows Media Player Microsoft Silverlight Word Viewer Excel Viewer PowerPoint Viewer