Print
Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option
 

starsMARRIAGE LICENSE

HomeHOME BackBACK
If any questions or concerns please call: (559) 600-2575


  • You must apply for a marriage license before your marriage license can be finalized in any ceremony. To obtain your marriage license, follow the processes below.
  • Marriage licenses are issued Monday through Friday from 8:30 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. Customers are seen on a first come, first served basis.
  • Both parties must:
  1. Appear together and present valid government-issued photo identification with proof of age.
  2. Be 18 years of age.
  3. Provide full names of parents and your state/county of birth.
  4. Provide dissolution status of previous marriages, complete with dates, if applicable.
  5. Appropriate fee (see link), paid by cash or credit/debit card. No checks or $100 currency will be accepted.


Public Licenses:

  • No residency requirement for either party.
  • Licenses can be purchased in any county.
  • Licenses can be used anywhere in the State of California. The license, when used, must be returned to the county of purchase.
  • You can purchase copies of your public marriage license from the Recorder’s Office in the county where it was purchased
  • Fee is $58 payable by cash or credit/debit only. No checks will be accepted.

Confidential Licenses:

  • Parties must be living together at the same residence.
  • Licenses can be purchased in any county.
  • Licenses can be used anywhere in the State of California. The license, when used, must be returned to the county of purchase
  • Fee is $69 payable by cash or credit/debit only. No checks will be accepted.
  • Certified copies of a confidential marriage license may be obtained only by the parties to the marriage or by court order. You may obtain copies either in person or by mail for $15 per copy. If requesting a copy by mail, please submit a Confidential Marriage Certificate Application along with payment.

  • While no particular wording is required for solemnization of the marriage, both parties should declare, in the presence of the person solemnizing the marriage and at least one witness, that they take each other as spouses.
  • Cultural or religious ceremonies are not legal in the State of California.
  • A marriage license must be obtained from the County Clerk’s office prior to having a civil ceremony.
  • It is the responsibility of the parties to be married to verify that the officiant is authorized in the State of California to solemnize the marriage ceremony. (For more information, see Family Code Section 400).
  • The Fresno County Clerk’s office can perform your civil ceremony. Customers are helped on a first come, first serves basis.
  • Fee is $21 payable by cash or credit/debit only. No checks will be accepted.

There are very specific rules for changing your name after you are married.  The Name Equality Act of 2007 gives specific information that you must follow. Please take the time to read the information at the link above. If you still have specific questions about changing your name, contact us for further assistance, or contact the California Department of Public Health Vital Records, Customer Service Unit at (916) 445-2684. If you have specific questions about how the changes may legally affect you or if you have legal questions about the Name Equality Act, you should consult with a private attorney.

The Fresno County Clerk’s office suggests that you notify the following agencies of your name change:

  • Social Security Administration (SSA)
  • Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV)
  • Voter Registration
  • Credit card agencies
  • Internal Revenue Service (IRS)
  • Utility companies
  • United States Post Office (USPS)
  • Department of State – Passport Services
  • Financial Institutions
  • Your employer