General Information

Contact Dept

  • Phone:
    (559) 600-3529
  • Address:
    2281 Tulare Street, #301, Hall of Records,
    Fresno, CA 93721-2198

About The Board of Supervisors

The Board of Supervisors is the governing body of the County and a number of special districts within the limits of state law and county charter. The Board is empowered to adopt ordinances, establish programs, levy taxes, appropriate funds, and appoint certain officials.  In addition, members of the Board represent the County on numerous intergovernmental bodies.  

The cities and unincorporated areas in the Fresno County are divided into five Supervisorial Districts.  Although the districts vary in physical size, their populations are approximately the same.  The five members of the Board are elected on a non-partisan basis to serve four-year terms. Each is elected from one of the five supervisorial districts of the County. Supervisors from Districts 1 and 4 are elected in gubernatorial election years (2010, 2014, 2018, etc.) while supervisors from Districts 2, 3, and 5 are elected in presidential election years (2012, 2016, 2020, etc. ) District boundaries are adjusted after every federal census to equalize district population.

Every year, the Board elects two of its members to serve as Chairman and Vice Chairman.  The Chairman presides at Board meetings and signs documents in the name of the County.  The Vice-Chairman substitutes when the Chairman is absent.

Who They Are

Board of Supervisor’s Agendas

Office Location

Find Your Supervisor/District